Scrambled, Never Boiled

I went on a second date this past Saturday with my blind date from Saturday.  I was just as nervous as I was on the first date because well, this guy is pretty great.  We met out at a new, local brewery and when I arrived, I noticed immediately that he was even cuter than I had remembered.  He was more relaxed, not stuck in work clothes, and he was already getting me a beer.  Score!  We managed to find two seats at the bar (amazing for this place) and we stayed on those stools until the place shut down.  I can’t remember the last time I had such a great date.  We just never ran out of things to talk about, funny stories to share, and we were almost entwined between those two barstools by the end of the night.  And then he said it.  “I HATE boiled eggs.  Deviled or not, they’re awful.”  But wait, I said, you like scrambled eggs, right?  “Oh yeah, those are fine but never boiled.”  Yes, we come from similar backgrounds and had our Netflix queue is almost identical but when he told me he hated boiled eggs I nearly melted.  It’s the random stuff that gets me.

I know I’m in trouble.  I like this man a lot and we’ve only been out twice.  The last time I had this feeling I was between the second and third date with someone.  Do you know what happened after the third date?  He never called me again.  At the time I was heartbroken, but of course I now realize that the guy was a jerk just looking to date around and I was really more attracted physically than emotionally.  However, I’d be lying if I said it doesn’t still sting from time to time or make me really nervous when I actually like someone.  My immediate response is to self doubt but then I think, what if this guy is different?  What if he likes me just as much as I like him?  So I am reminding myself that scrambled, never boiled, is worth putting my heart out there, even if there’s a chance it might break.

And just as a side note, this man shall be referred to as “Eggs” from here on out.  Fitting, right?

Leave a Reply

