It’s a New Year and I’m Ready for You, 2014

This year I have decided to make a conscious effort to be the happiest I’ve ever been.  What gave me this new found lease on life?  I received this book, Meeting Your Half Orange by Amy Spencer (http://meetingyourhalforange.com/) for my birthday in December and it has completely changed my outlook on life.  I call it the Lean In (http://leanin.org/book/) of the dating world.  The formula is simple:  what you put into the universe is what you will receive back.  This means if you think you’re never going to find the right job or the perfect guy . . . you probably won’t.  In order to receive positive experiences and opportunities you have to start embracing a glass-half-full kind of attitude.  Spencer tells you up front, it’s hard work, but if you start retraining your brain a little each day you can actually feel the positivity start to seep in.

I know this sounds like a lot of positive hippie crap but in my case, I have nothing to lose.  I’ve been on some terrible, terrible dates, some of which I will share on this blog.  I have also been on some just ok dates but nope, no Mr. Right yet.  However this year, after reading this book, I am no longer going to accept the ok for now guy or the really cute but this will never work guy.  I’m also going to stop looking for him and simply let him come to me.  Crazy, right?  And I’m going to apply this same philosophy to my life and career.

To kick 2014 in the pants, I decided to spend New Year’s Eve with close friends at one of the biggest hotel parties in the Washington DC area.  It was kind of like attending adult prom.  There were lots of tuxedos, low-cut dresses, and booze as far as the eye could see.  At one point there was one girl crying in the lobby, another girl falling out of her dress (yes, it was graphic and she was totally unaware), and a guy trying to not only take off his jacket but his pants were coming off as well.  It reminded me of one of my online dates.  More on that later.  It wasn’t until after midnight that my friends and I found our own space on the edge of the dance floor and danced our faces off until well after 3AM.  If that night has any indication how the rest of 2014 will go, I am excited to see what’s next. Image

Leave a Reply

